The healing powers of Bruno Mars

On the whole today was a good day. But the sanity crunch point came at 4pm when I picked Squidge up from baby school. He wanted to stay and we had to go.

Oh yes, full on meltdown. Crying, shouting, hitting. Huge globs of snot gravitating towards his upper lip. I picked up the emotional wreck and tried to shoehorn him into the car. He was executing an excellent reverse plank manoeuvre so closing the 5 point harness proved a bit tricky.

Reverse-Plank-Pulses1

 

I got in the driving seat and the wails continued. Apparently he wanted his wellies on. The roar was deafening. He was shrieking, hiccuping with rage. I looked in the rear view mirror and all I could see was a ref faced, seething mess of a child. Hell hath no fury like a toddler scorned.

wp-1471385072404.png

I’ve been here before of course, so I had to act quickly before that thin thread of sanity stretched and broke.

I switched on the CD player and then we entered the beginning of the end. ‘Uptown Funk’ with it’s supremely catchy hook and heavy inspiration from the Minneapolis sound of 1980s-era funk music, was the next track.

I’m too hot (hot damn)
Called a police and a fireman
I’m too hot (hot damn)
Make a dragon wanna retire man
I’m too hot (hot damn)
Say my name you know who I am
I’m too hot (hot damn)
Am I bad ’bout that money, break it down

Girls hit your hallelujah (whoo)
Girls hit your hallelujah (whoo)
Girls hit your hallelujah (whoo)
‘Cause uptown funk gon’ give it to you
‘Cause uptown funk gon’ give it to you
‘Cause uptown funk gon’ give it to you
Saturday night and we in the spot
Don’t believe me just watch (come on)

Don’t believe me just watch uh

This song has magical properties. The dulcet tones of Bruno Mars combined with the superb songwriting, keyboards and guitar of Mark Ronson coalesce into a rhythmic up tempo lullaby guaranteed to relax an angry infant. It’s a fact.

mark43

Beanpole and I did the ‘hot damn’s and the ‘whoo’s and Squidge bawled. Then he whined. Then he whimpered. Then he sniffed. Finally with a very deep breath, he sighed. And all was well with the world.

You should try it sometime.

Don’t believe me? just watch.

Lyrics by Mark Ronson
Song Facts by Wikipedia

 

My Random Musings
3 Comments Add yours

  1. Fridgesays says:

    Yes! My three year olds fav song. I believe in the cathartic and mystical tones of Bruno 🙂 I’ve seen it for myself #bloggersclubuk
    *writing this with a recorder in my face which is apparently a telescope?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sisterk1n says:

    Oh gosh, I wish my kids could appreciate Bruno Mars rather than the hideous ear-grinding 1970s nursey rhyme CD that I have to endure every time we get into the car! Altogther now, the wheels on the bus,,,#BloggerClubUK

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve heard it at least 20 times in the last week sang by the chipmunks in Road Chip. sigh I prefer Bruno.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

