I still haven’t found what I’m looking for – Part 1

In my house I’m known as Google Girl.

Ask me anything and I guarantee I’ll find out the answer in a flash.

I think it comes from my past career as a web developer, before the advent of smart phones and tablets and when wifi was only a distant dream.
I used to code search engines for newspapers so I learned what combination of words would be most likely to get a result instantly.

Back then we used all sorts of search engines – Lycos, Ask Jeeves, Dogpile – but since I only had internet access at work, it really was only a business tool.

Well except at lunchtime when we’d play Google Whack defined on Wikipedia as follows:

Googlewhack is a type of contest for finding a Google search query consisting of exactly two words without quotation marks, that returns exactly one hit. A Googlewhack must consist of two actual words found in a dictionary.

Examples would have included ‘fetishized armadillo’ and ‘parochial noctambulist’. But not any more because they no longer work. Anyway, I digress.

These days, with the web at my fingertips within seconds, Google is my go-to site for everything.

Recipe book, travel guide, fact checker, news source. Google does it for me everytime.

I was looking for something in my browsing history the other day and I realised that it represents my stream of consciousness, a perfect depiction of the copious thoughts which pass through my demented brain.

So in this occasional series I’m just going to list my last Google search terms to give you an incite into what it’s like to be me. So you can appreciate my unbalanced mind in all its glory. Make of this what you will….

Et voilà:

  • 5:2 diet plans
  • Aperol
  • ‘Gintern’
  • Scrappy doo
  • Pug
  • Subtweet
  • 5m width carpets
  • Italian cheeses
  • Air b&b
  • Winona Ryder
  • Olympic medal table
  • Rocky road cake
  • The Loney book ending
  • Beano characters
  • Cast of Roseanne
  • Rupert Everett
  • Handsome older men
  • Disable toilets tampon campaign
  • Theresa May husband
  • Care bear pants
  • Twitter killed pizza cars
  • Radio 4 schedule
  • Size micro sim
  • Bunk bed storage stairs
  • Homemade speaker amplifier phone

If you read anything into this, please let me know.

And feel free to share some of your recent browsing history too!

Linked to:

Blogger Club UK

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Louise says:

    Lol, that’s brilliant! A very eclectic mix of search terms there. I’m not sure what my last few are – maybe I should try and notice them more and see what they come up with. I remember trying to find Googlewhacks too – in fact, I’ve just wasted twenty minutes trying desperately to find one again – I’m quite proud that I actually managed to find one (blatherskite septostomy – which will of course now instantly cease to be a Googlewhack) but it took a lot more effort than I remember it taking!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ‘blatherskite septostomy’ is still a googlewhack – I’ve just tried it 🙂 At uni, you could borrow this from behind the desk…

      Can you imagine!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “With more than 10,000 listings!”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Louise says:

    Lol that is brilliant! I’d forgotten that things like that once existed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

